Why do people seem to think that computers are public space? I find it amazing that someone will ask to log onto my computer to do something. Some of these people even feel they have the right to change settings etc cos ‘it’s better this way’.

 Why do people think that my internet is available for public use? Would they ask to use my phone to phone random people for half an hour? No, I think not. And yet they will use my bandwidth to check their facebook profiles. What gives them the right?

 Why do people think that they have the right to comment on my background/wallpaper/screen saver? Or even look at it, in fact. Or to dig around in my photos? Would you just open photo albums at someone’s house and comment? I should think not. But photos on a personal laptop are fair game?

 Why do we not treat people’s computers as private? Their diaries are. Their desk drawers are. Their notebooks and files are.

 The world in general appears to need to computer etiquette lessons.

 My internet connection and hard drive space is NOT public property. I wish people would stop asking to use it!

