‘Eish – my BMW she is gone’

 

This is how so many non-black people chose to represent the spoken words of black South Africans. Many think it is very funny to talk in broken English in this way as a way to mock black people but still claim not to be racist.

 

‘But it’s how they sound’, is the defence given to show that there is no racism in the mockery.

 

I am not even going to examine the reacism of that statement at all but rather look at how arrogant English speaking people are, even Afrikaans ones. White people in this country speak English – or can. That’s a fact.

 

I think we as whities are fucking lucky that there are so many languages spoken by the black people in this country. Were this land like many other African countries with one or two predominant indigenous languages we would be fucked. How stupid would we look if we were forced to speak in public in a language we were never properly tutored in? Many of the black adults in this country did not go to schools where they had the luxury of a good education. Many learnt to speak English from poor English-speaking teachers. Many inherited accents which differ from ours, as whites.

That does not make these people stupid.

 

If I were forced to communicate in public in isiZulu I would be locked up as a drooling idiot. I cannot even get a simply c, x or q right and I am sure I insult or propose to every person I greet because my pronunciation is so appalling.

 

I would have no chance at being taken seriously if I were forced to speak in a language not my home language

 

So can we just stop with our obsession with how people, particularly politicians, say things and start focussing on what they say!

