It was time for fish – without the loaves, obviously, them being carbs n’all.

I bought some el cheapo hake medallions and a tin of NoMU seafood rub. The rub has parsley, coriander, mustard, garlic, dill, fennel, ginger and lemon in it – or so the ingredients say.

It’s dry so I mixed it with some lemon juice and olive oil and left the fish to wallow in it for a while.

I fried the fish in a little olive oil (like maybe 2 teaspoons) and then, when I had removed the fish, I threw a few florets of broccoli into the remaining tastiness in the pan. That was a good plan indeed. They came out just cooked (perfect) with the remains of the rub and fish flavoured oil all over them.

I threw together with a salad of rocket, sorrel and baby spinach and some bits – and I was good to go.

I really think hake is under valued because it is so cheap. The fish is delicious, firm and moist.

Enjoyed that meal, I did

