Last night I went to a friend for dinner but until about ten minutes before I left work I thought it was Wednesday and therefore not the day for Thursday night dinner. This really just means that I had already bought the bits and pieces I needed for the ostrich burgers I had planned to have for my dinner and today’s school lunch. I had time after getting home before the dinner so I decided to make the burgers anyway and then just have them today for lunch.

As carb-free burgers these were more patties with salad than burger, but they could so easily have been burgers proper.

In a bowl I mixed 500g of beef and ostrich mixed mince, 1 can of squashed red kidney beans, 1 fined diced red onion and 1 garlic clove, mixed herbs and salt and pepper. I mixed it all up into a satisfying smoosh with my hands and then portioned it into 10 patties. I put these in the fridge for a bit to firm up.

The recipe called for me to fry the patties and I did start out doing this. However, half way through the process I remembered I actually don’t much like fried food so after sealing all of the patties in the frying pan of hot olive oil, I transferred them to a baking tray and put them in the oven for about 20 minutes.

I admit I may have tasted one, by accident of course, before going out for dinner. It was really nice. I had two with salad for lunch today – they are pretty darn good cold too. on a burger they would be awesome!

The beans add a nice texture and reduce the meat, and fat, content.

A winner all round really.

