Again with the David meat meal. I claimed way too recently to eat red meat a couple of times a month ago not to be slightly embarrassed by the fact that pork snuck into a meal so soon after the topside duo. But its only sort of red meat isn’t it?

I do love pork though – bacon is the one reason i could never be a veggie much as I know it is the right thing to do. and do not tell me veggie bacon is the same – it’s not. (do they even make veggie bacon? – i do hope not)

Anyway – I wanted to make a bit of a curry and at my local Spar a woman was promoting pork. I like pork but seldom think about buying it beyond bacon and ham. I decided to use pork for the curry for a change. Pork is surprisingly lean and is cheaper than the redder red meats so its win win all round (unless you’re a pig of course).

 

I started by browning the meat and adding the curry powder, turmeric and coriander to the meat. I let that brown and warm up and make the house smell amazing before I added onions, garlic, chilli, peppers, potatoes, turnips, a tin of Indian tomatoes and a tin of red kidney beans to the pot. Liquid went in in the form of ¼ of a bottle of red wine.

Again, I left it to simmer away while David and I drank a load of red wine. (I am beginning to see a pattern here!).

 

I served the curry with brown rice and a scattering of fresh coriander. I am a bit coriander mad so mine had loads more coriander than was strictly necessary. But it made me very happy.

 

Bf gave it 8/10

David gave it a plate licking (he really did) 9/10

And I though it about an 8/10 too

 

