Despite the dearth of posts, I have been cooking up some little storms of late. I just haven’t been writing about the meals.

A few weeks ago a friend was visiting from Jhb and we spent most of Saturday preparing for a little dinner party on Saturday evening. The meal was largely vegetarian as one of the guests is a veggie. This made it an interesting challenge.

 

We did a mezze-type meal rather than a single meal. I like this way of eating and it makes for slow, relaxed meals.

The menu was as follows:

White gazpacho to start

Veggie crudités with various dips

Zucchini poppers with a sour cream dip

Chickpea and lentil balls

Patatas bravas

Chicken skewers with a satay

Stuffed peppers

 

Was all very nice but I didn’t take very many pictures so you will have to just believe me that it looked good too. One of my favourite bits was the zucchini poppers. I am not a huge fan of baby marrow but I do try to eat them cos they must be good for me or something. I really liked them like this. They are really balls and not poppers in the ‘jalapeno-filled-with-cheese’ kind of popper-way.

 

You need:

A pack of zucchini. I found the recipe asked for few too few. It claimed three marrows made 3 cups of grated marrow. It didn’t. I used 5 and only had 2 cups.

1 egg plus 1 egg yolk

150ml or so of flour – that’s 2/3 of a cup

½ cup of Parmesan cheese – and be generous, it adds such a delicious creamy cheesy goodness to the balls.

Garlic – as much as you like

Oil

Sage leaves if you have. I didn’t – we used parsley instead

 

You do:

Grate the marrows and then put them into a clean dish cloth. Squeeze the dishcloth to get as much of the juice out as possible. And then squeeze once more just to be sure.

Put the now dry marrow bits in a bowl and add the eggs, the flour, the cheese, the herb and the garlic. Use your hands to mix the ingredients together and then make small balls.

I then put them in the fridge for a bit but they got a tad soggy so maybe don’t do that.

 

The balls are friend in hot oil – I shallow fried them, turning them once only. You could probably deep fry them if your arteries could cope.

 

They were delicious right out of the pan, ½ an hour later when served, and the next day on a picnic.

 

The dipping sauce we made had sour cream, sugar, lime juice, parsley, salt and pepper all mixed up until it tasted amazing.

 

Very yummy indeed

